Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 10th, 2011

Randi.

I’ve never met her, but she’s part of my vernacular. I know she’s a good friend of Meira‘s and that’s about all I need to know. Well, that and her salads. Every year or so, Randi sends Meira a salad recipe.  She’s sent many many salads. But this one – the one that Meira got from Randi who got it from Shevi – is the only one that matters in my book.

Thank you, friends!

Shevi-Randi Salad

This salad is a great, very different from anything I’ve ever tried, summer dish. Only make it when you can find fabulous mangos and avocado. I made a few modifications, but for the most part, this salad is the same one Meira forwarded along to me nearly a decade ago. A decade. The cucumbers are a recent addition, so recent, in fact, that they didn’t make it to pictures.

Dressing:

- 1/3 to 1/2 cup canola oil

- 1/3 cup cider or white vinegar

- ½ t garlic salt

- 2 T sugar

- 2 t spring onion or vidalia onion

- 1 tsp curry powder

- 1 tsp soya sauce

Salad:

- Lettuce – I usually use baby spinach or red leaf

- Avocado

- Paw Paw (papaya) or mango

- Cucumber

- Caramelized nuts – I use almonds

Blend dressing. Add dressing before service.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

