Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 13th, 2009

springtime greenery

Despite my best intentions of eating a lot of fruits and vegetables over Passover, I often end up overloading on protein. My meals over the past few days have looked a lot like this: breakfast – eggs; lunch – leftover matzah ball soup (my mom’s); dinner – leftover brisket. Lather rinse repeat.

I finally had enough and trekked to three different grocery stores in my neighborhood to see what was inspring. My local Indian store (Shalimar on Mass Ave) had some great fresh herbs as usual and a nice eggplant – I’ll be trying Janna Gur’s “burnt eggplant” method soon but not tonight. Asparagus was on sale at Shaw’s. I had a few avocados in my fridge and picked up some tomatoes at Harvest, but wasn’t in the mood for guac. Here’s what I ended up with for a nice springtime salad.

Asparagus Avocado Salad

asparagus avocado salad

Adapted from Avodaco Recipes. I used 2 good-sized pinches of salt to balance out the sweetness in the dressing from the sugar and balsamic and the tartness from the citrus. It complements the asparagus nicely. You don’t need to use all the dressing for this salad (of you can just make more veggies).

Serves 2 (or 1 very hungry, veggie-deprived girl)

1.5 lb of asparagus

1 medium avocado

Juice of 1 lemon or 1 lime (I used half of each because that’s what I had lying around)

2 tablespoons of olive oil

1 tablespoon of fresh cilantro

1 ½ tablespoon of white balsamic vinegar, or white wine vinegar if you don’t have white balsamic

1 teaspoon of sugar

1 teaspoon of fresh mint

Salt and pepper, to taste

Break off the tough ends of the asparagus, then steam until just tender and bright green, about 5 minutes.

Plunge the asparagus into cold water to stop cooking. Drain well. Set aside.

Peel the avocado and slice the flesh (I cubed when I realized that slices were too delicate). Toss with half the lemon juice.

sliced avocado

For the dressing, whisk the white balsamic vinegar, olive oil, remaining half of citrus juice, sugar, mint and cilantro.

Add salt and pepper to taste, then pour over the asparagus and add avocado

Toss lightly, then spoon into a suitably sized bowl.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

